Girls4Sport Blog

Home » Life/Work Balance » Jumping for Joy

Jumping for Joy

BY MELODY DECARLO

They say that admitting your addiction is the first step, so here goes. My name is Melody and I am addicted to exercise equipment. Okay, that wasn’t so bad. Over the years, I have collected all kinds of equipment. In addition to my surfboards (from short to long) and my stand up paddleboards, I have a bike, Indo Board, hula hoop, Coremaster, Bowflex, inversion table, bosu ball, rollerblades, and some stuff I have probably forgotten about.

The one piece of equipment that I would never want to be without is my rebounder. Several years ago, I got a brochure in the mail about rebounders. I went online and researched their benefits.

Rebounding works every cell in your body. It uses three forces-gravity, acceleration, and deceleration. These forces act against your body and your body gets stronger as a result. 

Rebounding is also very beneficial for your lymph system. This system carries nutrients to the cells and waste products away. Your lymph system has no pump so it is dependent on exercise to work properly.

Rebounding will improve the immune system since all cells become stronger in response to the increased “g force” exerted on the body during each jump. As a result, the immune cells become five times more active.

I also found that this form of exercise is low impact, improves balance, builds bone mass and strengthens joints. It can improve sleep, give you more energy, reduce stress, and increase metabolism.

I was convinced that rebounding would fit into my exercise program. I read that a poorly made rebounder could actually cause injury, so I made the decision to invest in a good quality model and hope that I would be happy with my purchase.

Within a week of receiving my new Cellerciser (the brand I chose), I was hooked. It was FUN!!! I got some dvd’s to go along with it and soon I was doing dance, boxing, yoga, and hip hop on my rebounder. On a visit to my 86 year old mom, I took it with me so I could use it while I was there. I had her try it and within a week, I had to order another one for her. My sister tried my mom’s and, shortly after, she got one, too.

  

We use our rebounders every day. It is the first thing I do every morning, even if it is for a few minutes. I bounce while I am on the phone. My mom bounces during commercials. It is so easy to just jump on it and do a quick workout or pop in a dvd and really work up a sweat.I am so happy that I made the decision to purchase a good quality rebounder. It seemed like a big investment at the time, but now, several years later, I know that it was worth it. I would highly recommend rebounding to everyone. It will improve your health, increase your energy, and make you feel like a kid again. Go jump!

Melody DeCarlo is an inspirational surf teamrider for Girls4Sport. Read more about Melody DeCarlo here (http://www.girls4sport.net/category-s/282.htm).

Leave a Reply

