Girls4Sport Blog

Home » Team Riders » Fitness after pregnancy: It’s a team effort.

Fitness after pregnancy: It’s a team effort.

BY ZOE NAJIM

I made it! I feel like when you get the right answer on a math test: the values go in, the formula gets worked out, and poof you get the right answer. Before I got pregnant, I was healthy, in shape and active, and amazingly here I am again.

zoe najim girls4sport team rider

I was told this is the trick, and I believed them for the most part, but a small part of me was afraid that after I got pregnant, my active life would be over.  I can speak from experience that this has not happened.

Four weeks after delivery, I was able to work out in a gym, and six weeks later get back into freestyle windsurfing.  I skied all winter and now am really looking forward to a full windsurfing season!

The hardest part about doing sports and having a newborn is sleep deprivation.   But that is where your partner comes in.  Naps, which I normally would never take, are my new best friend (besides my husband).  And breastfeeding is a sure way of shedding the few pounds of extra fat that accumulates during pregnancy.

My goal is to compete in a Professional Windsurfing Association competition in Bonaire in June.  Showing up with my new baby and my husband, and competing (for fun) will be a dream come true.

Off to take a nap …

Zoe Najim is a Girls4Sport windsurfer who divides her time between Breckenridge, Colorado and Hood River, Oregon. Read more of her posts and others by Girls4Sport team riders here.

2 Comments

  1. Tammy says:

    Naps got me through those first few weeks after having a baby. It does involve an effort to get back to fitness but taking naps along the way really helps – even a half hour can make you feel refreshed and ready for action. And it certainly is a team effort!

  2. […] of Girls4Sport’s team riders. You can read more about how she juggles motherhood and sport in her last blog post. Read more of her posts and others by Girls4Sport team riders here. Rate this:Like this:LikeBe the […]

Leave a Reply

