Girls4Sport Blog

Home » Fitness Wear » Active wear » Happily ever after … the finish line.

Happily ever after … the finish line.

Do you secretly (or not so secretly) wish to be a princess? A lot of us were raised with fairy tales, so who can really blame you? They’ve got exciting lives filled with adventure, love and a bit of drama.

Anne from Boston is one of those lovely women who grew up wanting to be a princess and she’s proud of it. She ran in the Disney Princess Half Marathon and she was proudly sporting Girls4Sport leggings as part of her costume. Here she is to tell us a little about her training and the magic of running 13.1 miles in a princess’ shoes.

princess marathon

This was my first half marathon! The most exciting part of the race was crossing the finish line knowing that I just did something that I have never done before, and that only a year ago it seemed so unattainable that I thought I would never be able to run more than a 5k.

I trained three times a week for seven weeks. I also did a lot of yoga and physical therapy for my hips. Here was my race training calendar:

Wk 1: 4mi, 5m, 7mi
Wk 2: 4mi, 5mi, 8m
Wk 3: 4mi, 5mi, 9mi
Wk 4: 4mi, 5mi, 6mi
Wk 5: 4mi, 5mi, 10mi
Wk 6: 4mi, 6mi, 11mi
Wk 7: 4mi, 3.1mi, 13.1mi (RACE DAY!)

Running through the Magic Kingdom was pretty magical too 🙂 I work at Radio Disney in Boston, so it was really cool to run a half marathon in Disney World. I feel like it fueled me through.

disney marathon finish

As you can see from my pictures, The Little Mermaid is my favorite princess. She is so spunky and I love the ocean. She inspires me to never give up. She was at the race, but I didn’t want to wait in the long line so I stopped to see my other favorite princess, Pocahontas.

The leggings were great! Multiple people told me that I had the best outfit that they had seen all day 🙂 Practical AND cute.

Thanks so much to Anne for sharing these awesome photos and fun story with us. We love hearing your stories and seeing how you use G4S wear. Share them with us on Facebook or email them. Tell us a story! We’d love to feature you on our blog!

Leave a Reply

